The Big Brother Moment

Good to be back after a really loooonng break! Time flies.

As I was wheeled out of the labour room, my 7 yr old son walked along. An expression indecipherable. I should say, a mixture of anger, anxiety, confusion, a little happiness and a little loneliness. I wanted to hold him in a tight hug to show him that all was well but he would not inch closer.

He was angry because I left to the hospital in the wee hours of the morning when he was fast asleep. I did not want to disturb him and also was not sure how long it was going to take for the new baby to make an entry. The anxiety and confusion was because of the ‘wait-time’ and me being wheeled out on a stretcher like a sick patient! Yet he was happy to see me again. With so many people attending on his mom and the baby, it was not easy for him to hide the sudden loneliness. It was a ‘yeah, i’ll have to share my life with him’ kind of a moment for him. After a little coaxing, he came closer and I apologized for having left to the hospital without him. He was acting sullen for some more time but I knew that he had forgiven his dear mom and was comfortable again.

The next few days were a breeze and I saw my elder son grow into a responsible brother and establish his position as the elder son, and an adorable one! And very defining moments they have been! The best part of my hospital stay was, he made the evening Horlicks for me for the next few days and I emptied it to the last drop!

Will come back with more on this wonderful transition.

Leave a Reply

