Love stories

Seething with rage and teary eyed, I held out a chit to my mom. On it was written: “I Love You. Sajju”! This was when I was 7 or 8 maybe! Just before our summer vacations began. The anger hit a new peak when my mom laughed so much that she was in tears and then said it was OK to be loved! The flame must have died very soon for I do not remember seeing Sajju when I was back after the holidays..

A couple of weeks back, Vyas shared a secret which brought back old memories. Including the one above.

Vyas: Amma, I want to tell you something. In your ears.

Me: Oh sure. What is it?

Vyas: Come closer. Promise not to tell appa.

Me: Ummm.. tell me first:-)

Vyas: Sayuj loves Sanjana! (covers his mouth with his tiny hand and giggles)

Me: Really? Good. So?

Vyas: Says he will marry her!

Me: Oh? So soon?

Vyas: Yessu (a stressed ‘yes’ that is!). But Sailesh also loves Sanjana.

Me: (love triangle already?!!) Oh, good. It is nice to love. You must love everyone.

Vyas: You don’t understand. It is not that love (its hush hush conversation still..).

Me: To love, is to like someone dear. I love you. Appa loves you. You love Varun pappa. Keshu loves you. Aashi loves you. I love your friends.. Understand?

Vyas. No, but Apramey says it is not that love. This is different. Something silly.

Me: Yeah, if you say so!

To Vyas:Kanna, I did not tell appa. I just blogged for everyone to read. Promise.

Merry Christmas to you all!!

11 thoughts on “Love stories

  1. This story just brought back some memories to me. And, a name – Bharanichitra. Wow! That wasnt the first crush though, but the first instance I gave a letter – in 5th std! I have been trying to remember the name of my first crush. Should ask my aunt when I next meet her – she was our class teacher in UKG.

    Do your son a favor and make sure you remember the names of the his girls, from time to time!

  2. i liked the love story and the observation on vyas
    smart boy
    esp when he tries to explain the meaning of this love and that love
    wonderful
    blessed is the son and the mother
    cheers

  3. LOL!

    Reminds me about when I asked my mum (I was 3 or 4 I think) what sex was. She told me it was a word that explained whether you were a boy or a girl.

  4. he is going to grow up and sue you. poor boy! and vidya, he must have been exasperated trying to explain it to you : “It’s not that love, it’s different variety”.

    The must-not-tell-appa bit is awesome 😀

Leave a Reply

