Sons or Daughters?

Duddu (Aathrey) is mamma’s boy and sees to it that he does not make my sister sad. He was barely 3 and a half when his elbows were fractured. My sister almost heard the bones crack and with one swoop gathered the boy and her 1 year old daughter Aashraya, and rushed to the doctor. It was only when the doctor was wrapping the fractured limb did she notice that Aathrey had not let out a single cry of pain or protest!

Aathrey is now 8 and a half. The other day, he magnanimously declared that his mom should make it to the movie Avatar along with her colleagues and must not feel bad about not taking him and his sister along. He reasoned that he and Aashraya have a lot of fun but his mom hardly gets to go out with friends!! That is Duddu for you!

Aashraya is how I love to be:-) Fierce, independent, confident, and beautiful!! She has an amazing hold of herself and gets things done her way at least 9 out of 10 times! She is daddy’s pet. She is yet to set her eyes on the moon!!

During our recent get together in our aunt’s house, her dad took her, Aathrey and Vyas shopping. On their way back, Aashi conspired (she leads her brothers mind you!) and told that they should leave the toys back in the car. Mummy might not appreciate the amount of money shelled out on the toys! Somewhere during the conversation, one of the boys blurted out and sure enough, my sister gave a good piece of her mind! Aashi was quick to rebuke her brothers with, “See? I told you not to tell amma till we get home!!”.

Last Sunday, she let me into another secret. She tells me that she is always upto some mischief and quietly leads her mom to believe that it was Duddu’s doing! When prompted to tell me some instances, she extracted a promise from me saying I must not tell my sister about it! I promised. In whispers, she tells me that she quietly changes the letter ‘i’ to ‘e’ in his homework notebooks and the brother gets to listen to sermons on wrong spellings, carelessness et all from the mother, while she quietly escapes!! And this is Aashi for you!

As the children grow, I see that the daughters get more close to the parents and are better friends than the sons who seem to drift slightly. Am I right or am I biased and imagining? With two boys, I’ll be happy to hear you guys say that it is all my imagination:-) If I’m right, is it a cultural thing? Do share your views while I wait for Aashi and Duddu to grow up and see them doting over their mother!

11 thoughts on “Sons or Daughters?

  1. Oh, she must be so blessed to have a son like that ๐Ÿ™‚ wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚ wonderful upbringing is more like it :). Let he be the same and be considerate for ever ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. She seems to be more like her ever confident periamma. Nithu, it is so chweet of Athreya to let you see the movie. He is so considerate. Great upbringing. Vidhu in a way u r right. Daughter r more close to their mothers. It is very true in my case. Shreenidhi always comes forward to help me and she shares everything with me. Sons trust you but they trust their father a wee bit more.

  3. Ved is very much mama’s boy. I’ll have to see Varun before I comment anything. Well about outsourcing Shreenidhi hmm……………. I’ll outsource both of them to you. The foursome will be of great help to you:)

  4. Hey Vidya,

    I too used to have this feeling that daughters are more close to parents than sons. But, in rare cases, sons are like that too. I could see my husband more close to his mom, than his sister. In my case too, both my sons Vignesh and karthik are closer to me than to their dad.

Leave a Reply

