Role reversal

Last night, Varun fell asleep even before his sleepy mommy finished telling him a story. Vyas was waiting for the little brother to fall asleep and the moment I turned to his side, his arms were around my neck and it was to be the usual mom-son hushed hushed talk to catch up on few stories from the day!

We both fell silent after about 10 minutes when suddenly I felt a butterfly flutter against my cheek. It was a very familiar ‘feeling’. Vyas’s face was pressed against my face and it was his eye-lashes that were brushing my cheek. I planted a kiss on his forehead and told him that this was exactly what I used to do to my mom when I was like him or maybe a little older! And she used to kiss my forehead the way I did!

And then, I told him I miss my mom dearly. He was listening to my heart, for he pulled me closer, held me in a tighter embrace in reply. He was my mom at that instant…

11 thoughts on “Role reversal

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhh..clearing my throat !!! no words come out !
    Such a poignant scene !
    And Vyas is so matured ! God bless !
    And very well written, Vidya !

  2. I miss my mom dearly. He was listening to my heart, for he pulled me closer, held me in a tighter embrace in reply. He was my mom at that instant…

    i cud feel and understand ..nostalgic..all what u had mentioned a decade and half…
    u are blessed kt…
    wish u enough and more .,,,

Leave a Reply

