Weaving Magic

Sugandha maami, true to her name, brings fragrance, taste, and cheer with her. She is my MIL’s maami, but more than that to her, my SILs and to me. Oil massage from the best of spas pale in comparison to her’s. Many children in this side of the family ( including Vyas, Varun and their cousins), are beneficiaries of the ‘pathiyam’ Sugandha maami cooked for a month post child birth, which compulsorily carried two huge servings of a minimum of two vegetables every meal! She wouldn’t let anyone see the new mother ravenously attack the food in the plate and finish to the last morsel!

The sulkiest of kids eat out of her hands without a fuss. During the ‘nalangu’ ceremony at the weddings, folks throng the stage to listen to her trademark witty, pun-filled song (will get hold of the lyrics and post some other time) mocking at the bride and groom’s side:)

Kai-murukku is yet another speciality and the taste and shapes are absolute magic! Here’s a video of Sugandha maami’s hands in action and it looked as if she was at it under a spell!!

She makes baskets, krishna’s feet, flower and many patterns of murukkus!! People have remarked that it takes a cruel heart to eat those ‘beautiful’ murukkus and are worthy of being put up for a display in museums! Even as they say it, the murukku breaks into pieces on touch and melts in their mouths. This definitely needs a ‘kala tika’ and so I tried my hand at a few. Made about 20 ‘healthy’ looking ones except that the mandatory ‘twist’ patterns in them were slightly rounded off and looked like fat thaenguzhal:) Putting those pictures along side maami’s is a great insult to her kai murukku:)! That in another post in the other blog!

PS: This post covers just a subset of maami’s magic. If I were to jot down everything, I wouldn’t know where to put a full stop!!

8 thoughts on “Weaving Magic

  1. Awww I can’t believe she made that so easily! What grace and the symmetry – woww!
    Lovely post Vidya. Esp. the post partum cooking so reminded me of my grandmom 🙂
    Hugs and I so wish I can get to meet her and eat her murukkus some day 😉 😉

    Plss get that song soon 😀

    • Lavs, thats a long long time!!! Nice to see you back. Will ping you the next time maami visits! If you are okay for risks, drop by anytime. I’ll make my version of it:)

Leave a Reply

