Books..

A book in hand, all the time in the world, and someone bringing you a hot chai every few hours, is my idea of a perfect world:) I can lose myself in a book for hours or days together (oblivious to ants building their hill around me) and no day is complete if I have not read something for at least 10 minutes. Luckily I get my quota of reading-time mostly during the time I travel to or fro work.

Read a quote somewhere about there being a difference between a person who is eager to read a book and the one who is tired and wants a book to read or something to that effect. Well, am not sure if i really understand what it means but I probably fit into both the ‘types’.

Here are some of my favorites, a mix of fantasy, drama, tragedy, satire, comedy, surrealism, philosophy et al.. (listed on no particular order)

1. The Godfather – Mario Puzo
2. The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy
3. The Moor’s Last Sigh – Salman Rushdie
4. Fountainhead – Ayn Rand
4. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
5. Anna Karenina – Tolstoy
6. Atlas Shrugged – Ayn Rand
6. Life of Pi – Yann Martel
7. One Hundred Years of Solitude -Gabriel GarcΓ­a MΓ‘rquez
8. The Hobbit – J R R Tolkien
9. Animal Farm – George Orwell
10. Catcher in the Rye – S.D.Salinger
11. Gone with the Wind – Margaret Mitchell
12. Swami and his friends – R.K Narayanan
13. Harry Potter Series (but Deathly Hallows was a damp squib!) J.K.Rowling
14. The Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
15. The Impressionist – Hari Kunzru
15. The Lord of the Rings – J R R Tolkien (I just finished reading this and would like to read it again!)
… I can go on.
16. Edited to add: To Kill a Mockingbird -Harper Lee (How did I miss this one!)
Would love to know what your hobbies are and if you are a book lover, which are the ones that reel off your mind almost immediately? Ready to be tagged, anyone?

22 thoughts on “Books..

  1. Ah! Finally someone who agrees that HP-DH was a damp squib! uff!!! I couldnt believe it that the world loved it.

    Good compilation you’ve got there. Where do you find the time??????

      • Well, I actually find it difficult to rank books.. I just categorize the ones as the ones I love and the ones I hate.
        For instance, I hate self help books… any.. so I’ll probably be skinned alive for this. Here goes the Monk who sold a ferrari, men are from mars.. all fall in the hate category.
        The ones I love, I love them all equally with only my imagination limiting the movie that runs in my head as I read, dare I compare “MY OWN WORKS??” sacrilege!!!! πŸ™‚
        So, Michael Chrichton, Puzo, Ayn Rand, Follet, Archer, Ludlum, Dumas, Mr.Guha.. love em all.

    • Okay, local corporation kozha – Chetan bhai takes the cake:) then maybe Bombay rains, Bombay girls – Anirban bose. The worrrssst however was ‘the inscrutable americans! Wouldn’t like to put J.Archer, Wallace, Sheldon, D.Steel in there. Few jolly time-pass books:

      1. Not a penny less not a penny more
      2. If tomorrow comes
      3. Kane and Able and the sequels
      4. The Day of the Jackal
      5. Few by J.H.Chase
      6. The Miracle
      7. The Second Lady
      8. Few by Alistair Maclean

      Edhuvum peter-nnu solli dismiss pannadhinga.. So, what are your favs?

  2. I love love reading too. Godfather, To Kill a Mocking Bird are the two that’s popping up in my mind right now. My recent favs include Book Theif, Shadow of the Wind, etc. Visit my book blog for reviews πŸ™‚

  3. Deathly Hallows – a damp squib??? How dare you !! Its my favourite book of the series. A street fight is in order, i think.

    And 100 years of solitude is a sheer torture (Makes me shudder even now !) .

    • Madam, opinions are subjective. I still believe Prof. Snape deserved much better. And overall it did not thrill me like Azkaban part..

      Jo, unakku ippadi oru asai-ya?

      • Can’t agree more about Snape. The poor guy should have gone like valiant knight! My fav was HBP and its climax in the caves! BTW I joined HBP party only after watching PoA movie..

  4. I luv luv luv books too. Hv a whole page dedicated to them on my blog.
    Indu Sundaresan has been one of my most fav writers of late πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    So many from ur list make it to mine too!
    Somehw though, I cud never like HP πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  5. Favorite topic any time πŸ™‚ BOOKS have been one of my best companions in these years πŸ™‚

    Some of top reads that I would like to share:

    1. Fountain Head (awesome book)
    2. Tuesdays with Morries – a Must read for READERs
    3. Embracing Uncertainity – Susan Jeffers
    4. Lateral thinking – Edward Debano
    5. Alchemist, Zaahir – Paul Cohelo (have read all of his but these are the best)
    6. Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Illusion, Bridge across forever – Richard Bache
    7. Tipping Point, Blink – Malcom Gladwell
    8. The magic of thinking big – David J. Schwartz
    9. Fish – Stephen C. Lundin (first one is THE-BEST)
    10. The Bridgest of Madison County – Robert James Waller (movie too)
    11. Mister God this is Anna – Fynn
    12. A sight for Sore eyes – Ruth Rendell

    Rest the usuals – Daniel, Jeffry, Sydney,Agatha,Nora Roberts….

    Very few Indian reads – Bombay rains, Spouse & Second thoughts (Shoba De), all of Chetan Bhagat

    Thanks Vidu for this… Got some good suggestions from ur friend’s responses πŸ™‚

  6. I came here from Pal’s friday feast looking for some yummy recipes.
    has been looking for a list of good books. Got some from Swaram’s blog.
    My favourites are also our favourites and the rest I haven’t read . Oh I have to rush now that I have big list with me . No time to spare πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

