Lessons from Saint Kabir

When things seem to fall apart, when I think all hope is lost, just when am about to indulge in self-pity, two of the many lessons from Saint Kabir have helped wipe away the mist:

“Bura jo dekhan mein chala, bura naa miliya koye
Jo mann khoja aapna, mujhse bura naa koye”

I went looking for that which is bad, but never managed to find one. When I searched my heart, I found there wasn’t a soul as bad as me!

“Dheere dheere re manaa, dheere sab kuch hoye
Mali seenche so ghada, ritu aaye, phal hoye”

The essence of this couplet is that things fructify only when the time comes. A gardener watering his plants with a hundred buckets of water does not speed up the result.

What keeps you grounded?

10 thoughts on “Lessons from Saint Kabir

  1. Enna aachu vidya? Mandai’la adi patturicha.. romba yosikka aarambichuttenga? seriously.. appappa.. indha maataji rousu thaangalappa..

    Grounded? .mm… grounded… yosikka vendirukke.. romba… indha soona paana adinganaadhane.. grounded’ku chance irukku.. he he.. naama reemmmba steady’e..

    Seri.. paadhi decent answer tharen..
    What keeps me grounded?? for you its Kabir, for me its a different five letter word.. wifey..

  2. Several of Kabir’s couplets apply to life’s issues – the one particualrly true of human relationships is the “Rahiman Dhaaga Prem Ka Mat Toro Chatkaye, Tootai Pai Phir Na Judai, Judai Gaanth Pad Jayi” one

    Eat a chocolate cake, go to the beach, chill, chil, chill – the inherent ramdomness in the universe will ensure that nothing stays the same – even turbulence

  3. Very nice couplets of Kabir!

    deary cheer up! what’s life without its ups & downs? with a galore of mixed experiences in our life so far, we are already way-too prepared to take life as it comes with its surprises and shocks! Aren’t we?

    personally, my life through these yrs has taught me to be grounded always! A few mantras that I try and re-iterate myself during my downtime (core IT :)) :

    a) I think thru the situation and if things are out of my control area I need to let it be and allow it to go & find its way! There is nothing we gain by worrying and doing a what-if-analysis.

    b) time & again life has taught me : ‘This moment too shall pass’ – be it the happiest or the saddest – the more we try to hold it within ourselves, the more it eludes!

    c) one of the best lessons that i retain daily : ‘whatever happened/happening/shall happen is always for good – rather than labeling as good/bad, which is very subjective, everything is either an experience or learning – moments that we don’t like much are our source of learning – we mature with each such incident, if we observe closely!

    I can go on… πŸ™‚ not to sound philosophical but all from my own experiences and observation of life so far!

    and moments when i feel real down, i let myself go – do what I feel like: crying, talking to myself, divert myself by listening to songs; etc etc; something that will vent out all such flgs that pull me down & the next moment am out of the low-phase!

    and I signoff with a true filmyshtyle πŸ™‚ my favorite SRK’s :

    ‘jiyo, muskurao, kush raho, kya pata kal ho na ho’ πŸ™‚

    Har Ghadi Badal Rahi Hai Roop Zindagi
    Chaav Hai Kabhi, Kabhi Hai Dhoop Zidnagi
    Har Pal Yahan, Jee Bhar Jiyo
    Jo Hai Sama, Kal Ho Na Ho!

    Luv u vidu & always there for u:)

  4. There’s a series in kannada called ‘Kabeera Birida Belaku’ The light that Kabir spread around.
    His couplets do have an answer to everything πŸ™‚

    One of my favs is
    ‘ Nindak niyare rakhiye, Angan kuti chawai,
    bin pani sabun bina, nirmal kare subhaiy’

    Keep your critiques close to you, let their hut be in your courtyard,
    That way you don’t need soap n water to cleanse your nature.

  5. WOW, so wonderful lines…thanks for sharing.

    Whenever I face with a situation, I just close my eyes and open up the Sai Satcharita….the page that pops up, surely has a msg for me. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

