Tere duniya se hoke majboor chala, mein bahut dhoor

I’m disappointed. The school has provided an option to switch from the current second language to Sanskrit. And guess what? My fella has opted for the switch. Now tell me, don’t I have reasons to feel disappointed? Do you know what he has to say on this?

Vyas: Amma please, I want to move to Sanskrit.

Me: You must not hop just because your dear friends have chosen to do so. Many are doing it to improve their scores. Its okay if you do ‘okay’ in Hindi. You’ll love it. You liked ‘Lagaan’, ‘Jab We Met’ , ‘3 Idiots’, ‘Ta Ra Rum Pum’…

Vyas: Don’t be silly. I want to change because it (Sanskrit) is easier.

Me: Dei!! Who told you so? Sanskrit is not easy either. Enge, idhe sollu pappom (c’mon try repeating this):

Kaka Krishnaha, Pika Krishnaha Pika-kaka-yoho Kobedhaha?
Vasanthakale samprapthe Kaka, Kakaha, Pikaha,Pikaha!

Vyas: Po ma! I know that Hindi is tough.

Me: Kanna, Hindi is our national language (I wasn’t preachy, God Promise), and you’ll feel nice when you are able to communicate anywhere in India.

Vyas: That, you will manage. Besides, everyone understands English these days.(?!!)

Me: In case we move cities, there is no guarantee that the schools will have Sanskrit as an option..

Vyas: Adhu appo paathukalam (almost saying- lets cross the bridge when it comes!). Andha year struggle pannikaren (Will fight it out that year). Also, I’ll stay back with thatha/patti as I don’t want to change schools.

Me: Sigh!!! Take your time and think through. You’d need to work hard for Sanskrit too..

Vyas: That am doing anyway with Hindi. And you are going to help me.

Me: Yei, enna da! I’ll not get to do a ‘Hindi Conversation’ posts da!

Vyas: Do Sanskrit Conversation posts instead! Simple. Eppadi? An idea! You go blog about this debate now. (tries to look brilliant squinting through his specs and twisting his lips).

42 thoughts on “Tere duniya se hoke majboor chala, mein bahut dhoor

  1. πŸ˜† Your little angel knows it well how much you love blogging about your conversations with him πŸ˜†
    sometimes it’s very tough for the parents to help kids see the possible difficulties their choices might bring in life, but this is what makes parenting so challenging and so much fun too.
    I hope Vyas does well in whatever language he finally chooses πŸ˜›

  2. LOL Vidya…he is damn good in making his point….which class is he in ???

    And may I suggest to you, that Sanskrit is a better option than Hindi !!! Yes, and wherever u go, all the CBSE schools have this option to choose from. So, dont u worry. If the school is starting to teach Sanskrit from alphabets, this is the right time to switch. It might be difficult probably, but 10th Sanskrit is the easiest of all, helping them to score well. πŸ™‚ So, try to give it a thought. πŸ™‚

  3. It’s so nice that he wants to learn our ancient language πŸ˜‰
    He knows so well about us bloggers πŸ˜› LOL πŸ˜† So, we get to read Sanskrit conversations from now on πŸ™‚

    • @UmaS: He is in 3rd std. Adhukaan ithane bandha! That all schools have the option now is welcome news!

      @ Swaram: Hope Sanskrit convo sessions are equally interesting and don’t end up sounding Greek:)

  4. Hindi national language ellam onnum kadayadhu.. Its just an official language apart from English. I second vyas…. Sanskrit is fun and easy !!

  5. hey guess I switched over from Tamil to Sanskrit in Class XI to score more marks :)) Kids are smarter for sure! But guess Sanskrit is equally good and will lay a strong foundation for his hindi – am going by my experience vidu; i cld manage easily moving to delhi with my basic. So, as long as he makes his choice, u know u can make him responsible for that as well πŸ™‚ he is smarter anyways to learn / unlearn anything quickly. So, now looking out for Sanskrit conversations soon πŸ™‚

    • You had the advantage of being exposed to Hindi being in Delhi. And I’d attribute your Hindi to that and not to Sanskrit foundation… I may be wrong..

      • You’re right, my hold over hindi is purely due to Delhi but to start off talking / understanding etc I could do easily because of the basics – both 1 yr hindi and 2 yrs Sanskrit – that’s my experience probably won’t be true for all though.

  6. Your son Vyas is smart.
    You named him ‘Vyas’.
    So your son is bound to be a Samskrit scholar.

    Instead of feeling sorry, you should be proud that he is true to his name.

    You too should improve your Samskrita knowledge.

    Please visit the following site:
    http://www.samskritabharati.in

    This organisation conducts short term spoken Samskrit classes .Try to attend such a class.

    Please compliment your son and on my behalf buy him an ice-cream.

    May your son grow to be another ‘Veda Vyasa

    Sarvam mangalam bhavatu!

  7. Learning Samskritam is very beneficial as it helps in understanding almost all Indian languages. Luckily when I was in Chennai some years ago, I availed an oppurtunity to learn Samskritam.

    Now understanding Telugu, even Bangla (one can easily understand almost all the nouns & verbs) is very easy when you listen. Recently a girl from California who was born & brought up in US visited Delhi and Punjab and came back to Bangalore (to her grandparents place) alone. She had learnt Samskrtiam in California and she didn’t know Hindi. But she was able to manage very well in entire Haryavani Belt & in Punjab.

  8. What is it with us and Hindi? Why do we have to struggle with it? Why does it not come easy to us as English? There are quite a few exceptions to this.
    Is it lack of passionate teachers? or is it just the lack of natural practice?

    • 1. Namma orula…Kids start learning English earlier than Hindi. English alphabets/words are thought to kids at home but most of them learn Hindi alphabets only in school.
      2. Except languages, everything is taught in English(assuming English medium schools) at school…so it is easier to learn English than Hindi

      Teachers who are passionate on what they teach are hard to find….English or Hindi doesn’t make a difference…

      • Agree to all your points.. What you say is Quite true and Darwin would agree.. Its Nature’s Selection that English should thrive.
        Similar to Hindi, even Tamil has its share of problems. God, written tamil(as we find it in text books) is so so different from spoken tamil that it might as well be a different language! It used to be so tough that my teacher used to translate Tamil to Tamil all the time.
        I believe that we are losing out on churning out tens and thousands of tamil language scholars for the same reason and are left with a handful few who can understand and speak the chaste version of the language.

      • @LR: Mr.Me has hit the nail on the head. I have been telling my son to attempt speaking in Hindi to me. Constant exposure is the key. If am forced to live in Japan for an year, I’ll pick up the spoken bit far easier than attending several courses here. Wakarimasu ka LR.San?

  9. LOL… think thru it Vidya. are there private classes for Sanskrit? He can may be learn Hindi from taking private lessons/exams like Prathmic, Madhyama etc… just my thoughts

      • Ani: Already he’z finding Hindi tough. My son will end up divorcing me if I even pronounce Prathmic/Madhyama! I took it upon myself to help him with Hindi, so the choice. Will do the same with Sanskrit since I studied in high school..

        Me: Yes. Besides, there are a handful of Sanskrit pros in the family circle. I would not put him in additional classes for the language unless he shows a keen liking and wants to do higher studies in that stream.. Lets see..

  10. Apart from the ever present “scoring marks” angle, learning Sanskrit allows one to experience a plethora of Sanskrit works – prose, poetry, Solkams, Gita – not to be missed !

    “Vasanthakale Samprapte” – have not heard this since Sanskrit lessons in high school – thanks for bringing back a flood of memories

  11. Oh please let him take Sanskrit. My mum gave me the SAME dialogue when I wanted to switch. Sanskrit is definitely easy to score marks in, and the same time they will learn a beautiful sacred language too. To learn Hindi and communicate anywhere in India, all he needs to do is watch one Bollywood flick a week πŸ˜‰

  12. And PS: Learning Text book Hindi does not help at all. I learnt Hindi all my life and couldn’t speak a sentence properly in college. Only now I am managing to speak broken sentences as my darling part-time maid speaks only that πŸ™‚ So let him do as he likes πŸ™‚

    • @ Titaxy: Thinking if it should be blamed on the genes;)

      @ Chocolate: Edhuva irudhalum, avan enjoy pannanum. Yes, I got a little nostalgic too – recalling Nalopakyanam, Kadambari Sangraha… It was fun…

      @ Pallavi: Bollywood flicks minus the skimpiness! I can’t answer when he asks why that akka/aunty/girl forgot to wear her tops and skirt!! Sigh! I shudder to think what questions he’ll have if he watches those like Dostana;)

      @LR: Try out Pallavi’s suggestion.. Drown yourself in Bollywood;) Now don’t kill me for the idea. Its Pal’s:)

  13. Namaste,

    Studying Samskritam lays the foundation for learning any other Indian languages. Your son will easily learn Hindi if he learns Samskritam.
    Samskrita bharati USA has introduced Samskritam as foreign language to high school students and many Indian students have enrolled to study samskritam as their foreign language equivalent.
    India has many more avenues for learning Samskritam.

    All the best to your Son.

  14. Vidya amma,

    Hindi wallakkal ellam ippo samskritam padikkiraanga, samskritam pesuraanga. Neenga paiyanai Hindi padikka solreenga. Anaa paarunga, neenga samskrita slokam (kaakaH krishnaH) evvalavu azhagha solreenga. Neenga ellorum kannai muudindu parka virumbareenga. Aanaa kannai tirantundu tuungareenga. Neenga ninaitthaalum samskrita sanmbhandham ungalai vittu pokaatu. YEnnaa unga raktattileyum ellorudaiya raktattileyum samskritam taan odutu.

    jayatu bharatam! jayatu Samskritam!

  15. Scoring at 2nd language is always something that makes people take sanskrit.. It’s the oldest language πŸ˜‰ and needs to be kept alive.. And one way or the other people end up learning hindi..infact I learnt more hindi outside the classroom than inside .. Struggles with hindi always reminds me always of a u scene from a tamil movie where “Rahathata” is pronounced as “Raghu-thaatha”.Dont remember the name of the movie though.

    • That is what I have been hearing too.. But for practical purposes (like a relocation to other parts of India) I thought Hindi would have been better. Anyways, I think he’ll manage, and he DOES NOT GET to complain;) Hey, welcome here..

  16. Wow! I had read that subhashita in 8th standard. And I used to cry to mug up the “Ramaha Raamo Raamaha”

Leave a Reply

