This mommy is guilty but without feeling so.

Uma is evil:) She has not only showed her wily self by putting herself first before Pattu, but goes one step further and tags a few innocent moms to confess similar (or worse) guilt:)

Now tell me this.. Are angry moms a pleasant sight? I think they are the most unpleasant ones! And this mommy is the angriest ever if the tummy is grumbling.. The moment I reach home from work- which is usually at around 7.15 PM, the first thing I do is to have a quick wash, head straight to the kitchen and help myself to my dinner. All the cuddling and kissing can wait.. On the days I reach late, the thatha and paatti also ensure that the boys stay out of my way:) And no, am not exaggerating!

This way, the home-work routine for Vyas which takes a max of 15 mins, gets done without any tantrums on either side.. The boys are happy too as long as they are not asked to have dinner.

Then, there are the books.. The V-house uses the library membership to the fullest.. After we (the boys and I) pick the books and hand it at the counter for the librarian to make an entry, we always find that we’ve over-borrowed. So, I knock off few from the boys quota:) If Varun or Vyas throw a tantrum and refuse to let go, they are given the choice of staying back in the library to finish reading those books.. I either wait (and spend some time reading fun, crap, or gossip columns from magazines:)) or offer to pick them up after an hour:) They mostly let go.

I rarely watch TV.. But, on a rare day, if I want to catch up on a movie, they boys have to fore-go their fav program.. I have also bribed Varun with candies and get their dad to keep the boys off my hair for a while:)

This mommy also likes catching up on a movie in the theatre with her friends during a weekend…. The 3 boys have their own fun without me around and that suits me.. I take Vyas along if its a movie he can watch (read HP).. But there have been occasions like the one where he bawled (a long time ago) in protest of my hopping into a roller-coaster ride and the giant wheel, or on an outing with my friends.. I think it is important for me to let my kids know that while I’m always there for them to cheer, defend or pamper, I’d want them to also know that I have a life and I’d LIVE it… Oh well, but that’s another tangent, and perhaps a subject for another post.. Hey Uma, thanks for the tag..

So, absolutely no guilt-pheelings:)

13 thoughts on “This mommy is guilty but without feeling so.

  1. Hi vidya a very beautiful blog u maintain and this is the first time I really read somebodys blog. Priya actually asked me to take some time to read thru urs. I love it but u know im lazy so I don’t sit thru at all. I rarely check my mails do u believe it? Ok but that’s the truth. I would really love to follow urs, yes and will try to do it.

  2. Hey absolutely there should be no guilt.After all mothers are humans too. Happy to know about your non-guilty non-mommy (err..if there is such word) stuff. Once R grows a little older I am going to hit the theatres every week!

  3. What you go for a movie leaving your boys behind…bah!..good mother…you SHOULD do that…
    and my mom does that..rarely watchs a movie but when she does, she wants to watch the whole thing so tells dad to fend the phone calls and prepare dinner..and then when we call…dad is like sorry ma’s busy..and we are like oh what is she doing…watching a movie!!!

    and books…well..lets not talk too much about it..seriously πŸ™‚

    and yes, I am also an angry mom when I am a hungry mom πŸ™‚

  4. @ the risk of having u floating around, I heartily say that you are a Great mom πŸ˜‰ there is nothing in this which shd make u guilty! let’s take a break from the old phenomenon – where if mother has some joy on her own she’s pronounced guilty! before being a mom, sis, wife, child, friend, etc etc moms are individuals entitled to their space & feelings! So, in that you are doing a great job of being there & letting go! luv u vidu πŸ™‚ happy mummying:)

    • @Sujatha: Great to see you here!! And nice of Priya.. So that’s some free publicity:) Glad you like it.. Drop by more often..

      @Uma: Hitting theatres every week sounds a grand plan:)

      @R’s mom: I’m in love with your mom:) Do tell her she has a fan, ok? And dad is uber cute:)

      @ Sri: There! you said it:) Am not floating.. i’ll act like I have been mummified-ok?

      @Swaram: Am a Bharathiya-isthri – like things ironed-out;)

      @Ani: It always feels nice to have company:) Cheers Ani!

  5. Hey, thanks for doing the tag..
    Happy to know I’m not the only hungry monster πŸ˜€
    Happy momma = happy kids… so no need for guilty feelings… enjoy life!

    • @Smita: Bang on! We have to eat first to stay healthy, and then feed them;))

      @Chatterbox: The new-sweet-mommy-on-the-block! I already like the fact that you are taking some time off to catch up on the blogs and are also making posts!! Three cheers!!

      @Bhargavi: Traditionally, moms don’t get angry. they get VERY angry:)

      @Uma: Yes, the equation is as simple as that, no?

      @Abi: Thankooo.. There is at least one soul in this world!!

Leave a Reply

