Reading in 2011

First, a reminder to the self to get organized in this area with a decent online shelf like goodreads, shelfari etc.. More after a prompting by a friend just this morning:

A round-up of what I read this year (in no particular order):

1.The bus stopped – Tabish Khair
2.In a free state- V.S Naipaul
3.The Palace of Illusions -Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
4.Of Men and mice – John Steinbeck
5.Smell – Radhika Jha
6.In my father’s house – Ann Rinaldi
7.Ground Beneath her feet – Rushdie
8.Au-revoir Calcutta- Krishna Dutta
9.The Toss of a lemon – Padma Vishwanathan
10.A Passage to India- E.M Forster
11.Above Average – Amitabha Bagchi
12.Two Fates – Judy Balan
13.Revolution 2020 – CB (yes, shoot me:)))

Somehow, none of the books in this list have made it to my list of favourites.. And all these have been just a pick-and-read act, except perhaps Steinbeck.. nothing was on the list to start with, and no plans:)

Kids literature:

1. Charlie and the great glass elevator – Roald Dahl
2. Frindle – Andrew Clements
3. In Bon Bibi’s Forest- Sandhya Rao (attended the book launch, story-telling with Vyas and Varun.. A separate post later)
4. Advaita- the Writer – Ken Spillman (attended his book reading with Vyas.. (again, in another post)
5. The Whispering Palms – Deepa Gangwani and Tina Suchanek
6. Dorje’s Stripes – Anshumani Rudhra
7. Mayil will not be quiet – Niveditha Subramaniam and Sowmya
8. Just a train ride away – Mini Shrinivasan
9. Haroun and the sea of stories – Rushdie (currently reading)
10. The Conch Bearer – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni (plot akin to LOTR minus all the grandeur)

In this section, Frindle and In Bon Bibi’s Forest have been the best though I thoroughly enjoyed every book listed here..

And a whole lot of toddler books that I read with Varun.. Bondapalli and Ekki Dokki remain our favorites πŸ™‚

So what did you read this year?

13 thoughts on “Reading in 2011

  1. I see Palace of Illusions in ur list, let me tell you it is one of my favorite books. Do join Goodreads, it is a darn good site.

    And what did I read? Join GR and u will know πŸ˜‰

    Ur views on Rev 2020?

    • Smita, Palace of Illusions is wonderful no doubt.. Specially the contemporary characterization of Draupadi.. Something every woman today can relate too.. But somehow, I couldn’t bring myself to ‘love’ the book. The plot, the literature, the crispness, everything is nice.. still.. I don’t know how to explain… Umm.. maybe i’ll call my favourite of 2010- not an all time fav though;) Atticus Finch has come to live in my brain/heart whatever.. Samwise Ganglee is the best thing to happen to a friend.. Gandalf is indeed grand.. Howard Roark remains my hero.. you get the drift?

  2. I was just going to ask the same Q…whats your view on Rev 2020…I read Palce of Illusions…I liked it as well…

    Goodreads is it Smita…hopping over

    and oh, Vidya, I read charlie and the chocolate factory as well…I loved it πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the recos from Varun’s list…I am going to pick up some

    • @RM & Smita : Rev 2020- better than 3 mistakes, call centre etc.. but when i read CB, I’d like to think am watching a Hindi flick.. no expectations at all.. With his seeming twist to his stories, he is getting increasingly predictable.. I had vowed not to read another CB.. But Varsha, my neighbour’s 15 yr old daughter read it, liked it, and vouched for it.. and insisted that i read:) I couldn’t disappoint a teenager right;)?

      Charlie & the g g elevator is a sequel.. I like all books by RD:)

  3. I want to read Indian authors but I haven’t found many that are engaging and non-predictable. Any in this list that you’d recommend?
    Good reads is a great way to keep track of reading. Join! πŸ™‚

  4. 2011 was not a good reading year for a voracious reader like me. But i enjoyed more of the Ladies’ Detective Agency series, spent time on a lot of chick-lits, pondered over Paulo Coelho’s Like a Flowing River, read a lot of Indian authors that I was not impressed with and ended the year with wonderful translations from Malayalam – M.T. Vasudevan and O.V. Vijayan so beautifully translated that I wished I’d paid more attention to my third language Malayalam classes at school.

  5. U like all books by RD?? Bet you have not read “My uncle Oswald” * Ducks vidya’s punch and runs away *

    PS: Thats the only book I have read of RD.Liked it too. In my defense I was only intrigued by the fact that a book of RD was in Adult’s reading section and hence wanted to try it. And i am not even sure this comment is allowed in this blog *grins sheepishly*

Leave a Reply

