Yaer-cutting man

We have progressed from iron-man to barber. Given his penchant for stylish saloons, this career path is least surprising:)

He deftly handles his plastic scissors and instructs his patti to sit straight and he wants to ‘try’ a new hair-do.. Patti has just heard blasphemy and is mortified! She is pleading with him to let go.. and tries to reason saying he must not do it as it will hurt..

Amma is all game because what remains in the scalp now is just a suggestion of tresses that were.. Allow me to brag at this point about the rapunzellish (but the braid touching a little below the thigh) hair that suffered the treatment of fenugreek, hibiscus, mehendi, white-pepper, poppy-seeds, egg whites and yellows, shikkakai, ‘poongangai’ and such.. sigh!! [Reminds me of Uma’s story..]

Enough digression! So where was I? Yes, amma is a willing ‘customer’.. “Maa, ippi okachi sayya?” (ma, sit like this ok? and demonstrates), he says, showing me how i must relax on the chair.. I ask him if I can lie down on the pillow.. and market the idea that a head rested on a pillow is the best position.. He agrees..

He pulls a small towel from the cupboard and puts it on his shoulder.. perhaps to look busy.. He goes ‘kachack kachack’, implying he is at the snipping job.. Once done, he examines by coming to the front, running a comb through my hair, pulls the towel that he put purposefully on his shoulder, and begins dusting my neck, face, front, shoulders, the pillow, and the wall behind me. And declares, ‘hmm.. aachi sir. neenga polaam’ (its done sir, you may go now). No fees people. Yes, absolutely free… Wanna try? He doesn’t know to massage though.. If you can adjust…?

Image- http://www.toondoo.com

32 thoughts on “Yaer-cutting man

  1. yes yes yes…I am coming for the yaer cut…will he do it for R as well…will save me money and the entire effort of making her sit…if she doesnt sit at one place, he can always scream at her and scare her eh?

  2. lol! amma works in a saloon, no? that’s where the fascination comes from πŸ˜€

    and v. smart of you to convince him that lying down is the best position πŸ˜‰

    love the toon and the hair on the toons!

  3. Hehe,, so cute.. πŸ™‚
    “pulls the towel that he put purposefully on his shoulder, and begins dusting my neck, face, front, shoulders, the pillow, and the wall behind me”– look at his observation πŸ™‚
    Loved the image πŸ™‚

  4. What? You let the little one touch your hair? You are brave.

    I get hysteric if as much as a little finger gets within 1 yard of my almost hairless scalp…when any foreign matter touches it (even a speck of dust), the scalp, like kavari maan, sheds its content by the dozen. Can’t afford it anymore considering how much of my scalp is already naked….

    Ah, but that is my post-partum-hormonal-mess-sob story.

    Your story was infinitely better. Ask kutty if he could throw in a massage with the hair styling (at no extra cost). Mine used to when she was little, and there is something supremely comforting about little fingers on your skin (and the associated prattling).

    • I belonged to the ‘kavari maan’ clan for sometime.. then the clan disowned me:) touch or no touch, the strands refuse to stay strong and intact.. so no point.. i let the barber experiment πŸ˜‰ will tell you when he progresses to a masseur πŸ˜‰ but you’ll have to suffer his kolaveri as bgm!

  5. Viddu, This reminds me of my little one doing the same. Although he used to use small pebbles collected from the banks of river Ganga (Near Rishikesh when we went there) as scissors and he used to call them ginders (grinders, which means some machine used in the saloon he used to visit.) & an array of combs (Got in the navarathri collection). I was always his scapegoat and after the job is done he used to ask for money (unlike u r sonny) and make a sound draaak (means draw being opened to put the change). The little fingers were really so comforting that I used to doze off peacefully.

  6. Iam waiting eagerly to see him next for a hari cut by his pattu pattu fingers:-) .btw looks like the lil one has a Kaivasam kalai for sure:-)

Leave a Reply

