Nostalgia

Its 6.45 AM, and am in the kitchen, putting together a breakfast for Vyas. Having brushed and washed, he walks into the kitchen to wish me good morning. He puts his arms around my waist and I draw him to my bosom for a warm ‘good-morning’ hug and plant a kiss on his head. We hang on a little longer, taking in the moment. Am transported back in time by about 28 years or so. I can still feel the softness of her cotton saree and the smell of Mysore Sandal soap. My face buried in her bosom. Warm. Secure. Assuring. Comforting. Does it take forever for a longing to cease?

10 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. Still, I am haunted by just a thought of ‘mine’ bidding good bye to me in my sleep…Not even sure if that’s what happened! managed to duck this longing deep within my heart & reiterating to myself that the longing has ceased!

  2. Sometimes it is good that the longing never ceases. So you know what you had was real, so you know all you had to do is close your eyes and relive the moment again.

Leave a Reply

