Dream all you can!

I’m a dreamer. Literally! I wake up into this world from a parallel world every morning. Sometimes good, sometimes bad, nightmares mostly, some very funny! But two funny instances in my family have stood out and is the prime topic of discussions when we cousins meet!!

1. My cousin J used to live in Palayamkottai before her marriage. It was a typical agraharam house with the rooms lined one behind the other, a huge backyard, a common wall shared with the neighbors, and really felt ‘home’. But for the kitchen and the bathrooms, the rest of the rooms were multi-purpose. A huge almirah stood in one of the rooms adjacent to the kitchen and the plates used for having food were stacked under this. We had to pull out a plate, wash it, have lunch/dinner, and put it back in the same place. The house was always full of people visiting and staying over for a holiday etc and so people slept anywhere they liked. J slept in the ‘almirah-room’. Around mid-night, her dad heard some rattling sound in the room and was sure it
was rats. A rat it was, a 5 ft one, clothed, eyes closed, with the plate in the hand and eating away a dinner that was not there!!!:)) J ‘finished’ her dinner and religiously put the plate back in the same place and continued her sleep!

2. My sis Nithya was once obsessively collecting coins and she used to count it everyday to make sure it was all in tact and you must see her beam with pride if the count had swelled. They were always kept in a fancy kids hand bag that could be opened just with a flip. She was around 11 then and we’d been to our cousin’s house for a vacation. After a long game of cards through the night (my sis was an ace in card games!), we all hit the bed late and the sis was asleep in an instant. An hour later, we heard her count 1, 2, 3, 4 … for a while and in the dim light from the streets, we all gathered around to see her count the coins from the bag, eyes still shut tight!!!

The following night, in her sleep she yelled, “What da Shankar! You dropped the joker da!”. Obviously after playing quite a few rounds of Rummy!!

3. My friend JC has already had a few dreams, mostly connected to work-place, few of which are close to turning true:) So, she has strict orders to dream up only good things. A fat appraisal for herself and her friends for instance:)

Mine are mostly nightmares:) Before marriage, it was someone kidnapping my sis or an accident. Post marriage, it is losing my kids in a crowd or in a forest or maze! Or, I try to alight from a train, but it never stops in the station where I want it to and my people are waving frantically from the platform! Am attributing all these nightmares to the insecure feeling that I always have about my kids.

Dreams

One funny dream though was that of my partner getting married to someone else and yours truly greeting everyone happily on the occasion! Woke up a tad disappointed to find myself still in the marriage. The hubby was (is?) hopeful of another chance though:)

Some real-life situations seem so familiar and predictable and I have wondered if I’d dreamt those things earlier. Many are seasonal; during work deadlines, its either about getting late to the office, forgetting to check-in something, getting into the wrong bus, not packing lunch for my son etc. During festivals or holidays, it about waking up late, or burnt food! Nothing to say if its a season of kids sickness!

What about you? Do you dream? And how often do you dream? Funny ones that you’d care to share? Wish you all a happy dreamy weekend!

11 thoughts on “Dream all you can!

  1. yours truly greeting everyone happily…
    actually that makes perfect sense… your dream avatar was probably thinking.. ha ha ha now he has two headaches to deal with.. and thats why.. the avatar was happy!!!

  2. The most memorable one I’ve had as a kid is when I dreamed up an episode of the TV serial “Fauji” and a cliffhanger one at that – and the real episode turned out to be eerily similar 🙂

  3. great post….
    My grandmum was a great one with dreams, used to scream and moan through the night, while we kids
    shivered and tried to wake her up, she would get up with a start and then promptly go to sleep,while we could not for a long time!

    hey you gave me a nice thought to post about …thanks….

  4. Hey Vidya, I am here for the first time. Nice blog and nice post. Thanks for visiting mine.
    Our kula deyaivam is at palayam kottai. Will come again and read the your blog peacefully

  5. First time here. Loved your post. Will keep coming. About your cousin J, I am reminded of a true story by the basketball player, Shaquille O’Neal. He is the 9th child of 10 children to his parents. He once said: When my mom says “dinner is served” and if we are not on the dining table within one minute, all the food is gone.

    About the dream re your kid and husband. Your husband is lucky to have you as his partner. Best wishes to both of you.

    • Welcome here SG! Glad you liked the post:) Well, maybe I should try Shaquille O’Neal’s mom’s technique with my fella?!! Will get my partner to definitely read the last line of your comment. Praises are hard to come by these days you see!!:-)

      • Wonder what Sahq’s mom did when he bawled and brought the house down coz he didnt get his mashed potatoes and ham!

Leave a Reply

